Welcome!

I have fulfilled a long-awaited wish and made my ham radio license in January 2022.

In this weblog I write about my experiences, experiments and projects in amateur radio. The whole thing serves mainly as documentation for myself, but maybe there is some useful information for other OM’s and YL’s.

If you want to know more about me, please visit my page at QRZ:

Visit my QRZ.com homepage

Thanks for visiting and have fun browsing.

SOTA activation of Triglav S5/JA-001 in Slovenia

SOTA activation of Triglav S5/JA-001 in Slovenia
In August 2022 I was walking on the Alpe-Adria long-distance hiking trail to complete my crossing of the Alps from Salzburg to Trieste. On the way I also passed Triglav, the highest mountain in Slovenia with 2864 meters, and I really wanted to climb it and activate SOTA!
Read more →

Listen to Yaesu FT5-DE QSO recordings with an iPhone

It happens that I can’t record a log during a SOTA activation, for example because it is too cold or too stormy. In these cases I listen to the voice logs with the iPhone and explain in this article how I do that.
Read more →

SOTA activation of the Wurmberg and Brocken in the Harz mountains

SOTA activation of the Wurmberg and Brocken in the Harz mountains
I climbed these two mountains in the Harz several times before I became a licensed ham radio operator. On this Harz hiking weekend in July 2022, of course the light SOTA equipment had to come along to activate the Wurmberg DM/NS-001 and the Brocken DM/SA-001.
Read more →

My ’lightweight backpacking’ SOTA equipment

On my trekking tours I travel very light and of course the ’luxury luggage’ for SOTA must weigh as little as possible. In this article I describe my equipment in terms of weight and pack size.
Read more →

Herzlich Willkommen!

Ich habe einen lang ersehnten Wunsch erfüllt und im Januar 2022 meine Amateurfunklizenz gemacht.

In diesem Weblog schreibe ich über meine Erfahrungen, Experimente und Projekte im Amateurfunk. Das Ganze dient hauptsächlich als Dokumentation für mich selbst, aber vielleicht sind ja auch ein paar nützliche Informationen für andere OM’s und YL’s dabei.

Wenn Du mehr über mich erfahren möchtest, besuche doch auch meine Seite bei QRZ:

Meine QRZ.com Homepage besuchen

Diese Seite ist übrigens auch aus dem
erreichbar unter

Vielen Dank für Deinen Besuch und viel Spaß beim Stöbern.

SOTA-Aktivierung des Triglav S5/JA-001 in Slowenien

SOTA-Aktivierung des Triglav S5/JA-001 in Slowenien
Im August 2022 war ich auf dem Alpe-Adria Fernwanderweg unterwegs, um meine Alpenüberquerung von Salzburg nach Triest zu kompletieren. Auf dem Weg kam ich auch am Triglav, dem mit 2864 Metern höchsten Berg Sloweniens, vorbei und wollte ihn unbedingt erklimmen und SOTA-Aktivieren!
Lese weiter →

Yaesu FT5-DE QSO-Aufzeichnungen mit dem iPhone abhören

Es kommt vor, dass ich bei einer SOTA-Aktivierung kein Log mitschreiben kann, zum Beispiel weil es zu kalt oder zu stürmisch ist. In diesen Fällen höre ich die Sprachaufzeichnungen mit dem iPhone ab und erkläre in diesem Artikel wie ich das mache.
Lese weiter →

SOTA-Aktivierung des Wurmberg und Brocken im Harz

SOTA-Aktivierung des Wurmberg und Brocken im Harz
Auf diese beiden Berge im Harz bin ich schon etliche Male vor meiner Lizenzierung zum Funkamateur gestiegen. An diesem Harz-Wanderwochenende im Juli 2022 musste natürlich die leichte SOTA-Ausrüstung mit, um den Wurmberg DM/NS-001 und den Brocken DM/SA-001 zu aktivieren.
Lese weiter →

Meine ’lightweight backpacking’ SOTA-Ausrüstung

Auf meinen Trekking-Touren bin ich mit sehr leichtem Gepäck unterwegs und natürlich darf dann das ‘Luxus-Gepäck’ für SOTA auch nur so wenig wie möglich wiegen. In diesem Artikel beschreibe ich mein Equipment in Bezug auf Gewicht und Packmaß.
Lese weiter →